AAP Annual Awards Program Nomination Form

Please nominate only one person for one award on each form. This form may be copied. If you have any questions about this form, an award, or the awards process, please contact Terry Cochran at AAP at (717) 736-4734 (direct) or tcochran@pacounties.org.

Nomination Deadline: April 5, 2025

Return this form to: Terry Cochran, AAP, P.O. Box 60769, Harrisburg, PA 17106-0769, fax to (717) 526-1020 or email to tcochran@pacounties.org. NAME OF AWARD: NAME OF NOMINEE: Address of Nominee: County Employed In: Nominee's Years of County Service Years of Current Job Service Name and title of person making this nomination: Reason for Nomination: Nominator's Telephone Number: ______

Please attach a written nomination statement, no longer than two pages double spaced, addressing the criteria listed for the award(s). Up to two letters of support may be included, as well as some documentary evidence (news articles, publications, etc.) to support the nomination.

Nominator's Email Address:



AAP Annual Awards Nominations

Purpose: The AAP Awards Program recognizes AAP members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of assessment and the state association.

Process: The awards will be presented at the Annual Banquet at the Annual Conference on the evening of **Thursday, May 8** at the Kalahari Resort in Monroe County. The Awards Committee (an ad hoc committee appointed by the AAP President) reviews the nominations and selects the award recipients. Awards for which no nominations have been received may still be given by nomination of the AAP Board and/or the Awards Committee. Award recipients receive an engraved award.

The awards, and their respective criteria, are:

NAESSIG AWARD

This award was named after Carl W. Naessig, second president of the Assessors' Association of Pennsylvania. This award is given to recognize meritorious service to the assessment profession and the Assessors' Association of Pennsylvania.

HANISITS/HETTINGER AWARD

The award was named after Robert Hanisits, the 40th president of the Assessors' Association of Pennsylvania, and Alfred Hettinger, AAP's longtime solicitor. This award is given to recognize an individual's achievements in enhancing education in the assessment field.

CHUDY AWARD

The award was established in honor of Michael M. Chudy, the first AAP President. The award is given for the best assessment article in the AAP Journal newsletter in 2024.

GARRITY AWARD

This award was named after past president, Thomas P. Garrity. The recipient is awarded a one-year paid membership in the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO). The recipient is selected by a local chapter on a rotating basis.

MATYLDA ZUROWSKA HUDAK AWARD

This award was established in honor of Matylda Zurowska Hudak, an assessor from Scranton who was one of the founding members of the National Association of Assessing Officers which eventually became the International Association of Assessing Officers (IAAO). The award recognizes a woman who has made outstanding contributions to the assessment field.

EUGENE PORTERFIELD AWARD

This award has been established in honor of Eugene Porterfield for his dedicated service to the assessment profession. The award recognizes an AAP member of 10 years in good standing who has made significant contributions to the AAP or the assessment profession. Other criteria include serving in an elected position in the AAP, a committee chair or as an AAP speaker/instructor; promoting the assessment profession through education or legislative work; or, serving in other public service organizations. The AAP officers may nominate at least two members each year and then the Board of Governors will vote for the recipient who will need a simple majority vote.

SPECIAL AWARDS

Special awards may be granted at the discretion of the Awards Committee with Board approval.